Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
steelhead
was hoping to pick everyone's brains. what weight fly rod would you suggest for steelhead and salmon in shallow wadeable rivers. i think i just made up a new word or just can spell hehe.
[signature]
Although I am a newbie to Steelhead, I am going with a 10' 8wt and I spent the extra and bought the multi tip line. It just made more sense to spend $129. on ONE line that has four possibilities and only need one reel[Wink].
I bought the Trident TLS two piece rod with a 3" fighting butt.
[signature]
for the fall salmon steelhead run in the St. Joseph river in michigan i use a 9' graphite st. croix light action rod with 8 or 10 lbs line. god it's soo much fun with the real light tackle. but i'm seriously tempted to try the summer run with a fly rod that's the reason for my question.
[signature]
[cool][font "Poor Richard"][size 3][green]Hi there gurthgul - steelheading can be quite a challange. Back in the early 90’s when I first started exploring the world of fly fishing I bought my first fly rod which was a 8½’ 6wt rod. This was fine for cutts, bows & browns. But I knew it wasn’t up to the task for taking steelheads. Didn’t want to invest in another swatter at that time so I relied on my Daiwa 9’ pole with a line test of 10 -15 lbs and M/L action. This pole was up to the challenge of taking steelheads.