Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Frustrated fishing. Need rod/reel help
I'm new to fishing and I must say it is incredibly confusing... A year ago I bought a ugly stick spinning combo, used it once and had problems. I had a major tangle so I decided to just cut everything and I couldn't figure out how to get it to reel in the line.

A year later I take it out of the garage and check it out and figured I needed to put it under the line guide before putting it through the guide holes.[mad]

But when I first got the rod the worker at the store put the line on and when you grabbed it with your index finger and opened the bale it felt very very strong and needed no effort to hold it. Now when I do that it feels EXTREMELY limp, almost like a long piece of hair.

I can't even cast this thing...I can maybe throw it out 15 feet with a soft rubber and today I bought a decent weight and I was still throwing it out the same distance.

Then it's like am I even putting the hook in the lure the correct way?!

Fishing is driving me nuts, any help I would appreciate it. I would like to enjoy it one day.

*edit*
I just read something on this forum about cheap lines having memory? Could this be the cause of my problems since it has been on the reel for over a year?
[signature]
Yes it could be the cheap line. Also it can be how much line is on the reel too. If you want to stay with mono it should be changed regularly. Especially if it has been sitting on the reel for a while. I use Berkeley xl lines. They are strong and work great.
[signature]
Sounds like your using a bait caster.Why not try a spinning reel to start with. It will be a lot easier to use and you won't be frustrated about fishing. You won't have to adjust the brake to change lures. Goggle weightless worming to learn how to setup a hook on a worm.
[signature]