Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
white fish help?
There was a time in my life that my fishing was limited to the long rod, but time and age have crept up on me. Most of my fishing these days is limited to a boat, but I would like, once again, to regain the rythm of the stream and the long rod, perhaps in quest of a whitefish or two for the smoker. It has been nearly 40 years since I have eaten one.

I have no knowledge, at least practical, of the middle or upper Provo or the Weber. Wading might prove to be difficult for me, but I can probably tempt a younger and more agile friend to accompany me to assist with the wading and to placate my little bride who fears the worse when I threaten to wade a river once again.

If any of you can point me in the right direction where I might catch a whitefish or two, a section of river specifically, and a couple of flies that might work, it would be greatly appreciated.

I thank you for whatever information you might provide.
I know a few places for some whities. Shoot me a pm. Easy on the legs and easy access too.[Wink]
[signature]
Taggart's on the Weber is an easy place to pick up whiteys from shore. At least if it isn't iced up.
[signature]
Well,I happen to be a whitie fan since I enjoy em just as much as trout, that includes eatun. I do this for my winter activity and then switch to bass as the temps permitt. I usually release trout and keep the whities so the rest of the folks can catch the trout. That being said, for some reason whitie fishunhas been tough for me this year. I have snagged as many as I caught bitting. A tail sagged shitie fight better than a Tiger Musky! [Smile] I can find schools (polaroid glasses help a lot) but if there is a trout in the school he will take my fly and the whities don't even give a look. Don't know if it's the time of year, location or what. Have noticed though that when they see ya or are spooked, they get real tough.