Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tex Creek Zone
This is my first year elk hunting and I am planning on going to spend the weekend in Tex creek. Anyone been up there for the archery hunt? I am heading up for the rifle hunt the 15th - 21st.

If you dont want to share your super secret spots I understand but would love to get some info on where the herd might be. You can PM me if you dont want a bunch of people to know

Thanks!
[signature]
pray for snow early if you are cow hunting. they will get on the move and be easier too pinpoint right now i imagin they are still pretty high up.
[signature]
I hear that is the story for elk hunting around here. You have to get real high up because the hunt is so early. I went out last year with a buddy for the elk hunt and there was a little snow and we saw animals everywhere but could never get close enough.

I am hoping this year will be different.
[signature]
I spent the weekend up in Tex Creek deer/elk hunting.

We got up there about 6:30am on Thurs and spent most of the day in the Meadow Creek area looking for deer. We found the perfect spot and sat and watched about 8 moose come down to the water and splash around for about 30 minutes at 50 yards. One of the bulls had to be at least 3 /12 feet wide. After about 10:00 we decided to head out and walked around a bit glassing from the tops and only saw a few more moose.

That night we went back to the same spot and saw nothing. We talked to a few other groups and no one had seen any deer and only a few cow elk had been spotted. We spent the next day out in the Indian Fork area and saw a couple of does in the morning and a few more moose (anyone see a pattern?) Talked to a few more guys and still no deer spotted and only the occasional elk. At this point we had only heard maybe 1 shot each day but had seen at least 30 hunters each day.