Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
help me
I want to start fly fishing. i have never done it before so i really don't know where to start. whats a good type of pole (length, wt. brand, etc..) i don't have a lot of money to spend on one so something a little on the cheaper side would be great. any info on fly fishing for a beginner would be much appreciated. Thanks.
[signature]
9 foot 5 weight Reddington or Echo Carbon rod, also check:

[url "http://www.allenflyfishing.com"]www.allenflyfishing.com[/url]

with RIO Gold line. should set you back, what.... 400 bucks max? but the rod and reel you get will last forever
[signature]
Brian-

Hey, I think you should take a look at some of the combo packs from Cabelas. There are some very affordable options listed that would be great for a beginner.

The type of fishing you plan on doing should determine what type of outfit you purchase. If you plan on hitting big rivers or lakes, then the 9 foot 5 weight is probably your best bet. If you plan on only dry fly fishing in small streams, then maybe look at a 7 foot 3 weight. Just like everything else in this world, it all depends. I would probably go with the 9 footer though because it's still effective on smaller waters, just a little more cumbersome.

Check Cabelas though.

[url "http://www.cabelas.com/catalog/browse/fishing-rod-reel-combos-fly-fishing-rod-reel-combos/_/N-1104843/Ns-CATEGORY_SEQ_105571980?WTz_l=SBC%3BMMcat104793480%3Bcat104762880&pcrid=8678834658"]http://www.cabelas.com/catalog/browse/fishing-rod-reel-combos-fly-fishing-rod-reel-combos/_/N-1104843/Ns-CATEGORY_SEQ_105571980?WTz_l=SBC%3BMMcat104793480%3Bcat104762880&pcrid=8678834658[/url]

gaetz
[signature]
Brian,

What the price point you are looking to spend ? I ask this question to all new fly anglers due to the fact that Fly fishing can be expensive sport.

I think today's fly angler has allot more options and there are many many inexpensive rods that fish like there top notch counterparts.