Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Raccoons in my yard
Anyone out there familiar with trapping raccoons? There seems to be a family of 7 roaming our neighborhood (Kaysville). I've seen them a few times - heard them several times.
Would like to get rid of them. Any thoughts on how?
[signature]
Raccoons are nasty. While very rare to have rabies west of the Rockies they do also carry a parasite that can get into your brain. My answer is get a dog [Smile] and make sure they can’t get into your fireplace and attic.They generally stay away from the scent from dogs as well as humans. Plus they’ll run like hell and never return when a big dog chases them out of your yard. That work for me 15 years ago so I’ve never resorted to trapping them. Plenty of information on the net about trapping. http://www.havahart.com/raccoon-baits
Now if you needed first hand information on trapping chipmunks I’m an expert there. Sunflower seeds work better than nuts.
[signature]
You can catch them with those small animal traps, I've used tuna fish as bait and that seems to work just find. Not sure if they still have them but the DWR use to have those traps that they would loan to people when they had problems with raccoons and other small animals. If they don't still loan them out, you can buy those small traps at several places, the last I checked, even Harbor Freight sold them. Once you trap them you have a couple of options, either take them a long ways away from your house, like 10 miles or more and release them or you can make a raccoons hat out of them[Wink]. If you don't get rid of them, the problem will get worse.
https://www.harborfreight.com/32-in-x-15...61682.html
[signature]