Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
DNR yet to divest any lakes area property
June 22, 2005 - It's been nearly four decades since former airman Roger Brittain was stationed at the old Nike Missile base on Wise Road in Commerce Township, but he can still recall his days with the U.S. Air Force as an SP-4 radarman at the D-87 base.

"I was an acquisition radar operator, which would acquire a target during the Cold War time," Brittain said. "We could lock onto a target, and if the situation required, we could attack it and destroy it."

The base, which was activated in 1955, housed several Ajax and Hercules cruise missiles that could be used to defend against air attacks. Brittain was assigned at the base from the middle of 1966 to the end of 1968. "They guaranteed me a year-and-a-half in that field if I joined, then they sent me to Germany and I was in the same thing there."

Although the D-87 base was deactivated in 1974 and the launch area was demolished in 1994, Brittain can still describe the layout of the base from his home in Livonia.

"I think the building probably closest to the road on the left side was the motor pool area, then there was a building that went north and south, which was the mess hall. Then, another building as you go deeper in from the motor pool, the next would be the headquarters-command ... the third was the barracks. There were two trailers, like a semi, at each end of the building so that the (radar) units were portable."

Today, a tree-lined road, a few buildings and an overgrown concrete heli-pad are all that remain of the base.

"The last time I was there was some years ago," Brittain said. "I never thought I would ever feel Sad — I didn't know what I would feel, I wasn't expecting any feelings at all — but I'll never forget going there, and my heart sank. At the time, I found out that it was operated by the DNR.