Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lure making for newbie
I would really like to get into lure making--spinners, spoons, and jigs. I have tied flies and can easily adapt to jigs. But I have no experience with spinners and/or spoons, though the latter is undoubtedly simple. Is there a recommended pamphlet or booklet on spinner making?
Where is the best place to buy the materials and tools?
[signature]
Jannsnetcraft has a good supply to start you out, also lurecraft is my supplier for plastic.
[signature]
just read somemore of the post on the lure and jigmaking board and ask lots of questions there are lots of people here that can help you. we have instrutinal classes here in northern Utah and learn the fine arts from grand master tubedude
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]Welcome to our playroom. As you have been advised, you can cruise back through some of our past threads and pick up a lot of good stuff. You can also use a browser to enter "Lure Making" and you will find tons of sites on both supplies and instructions.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]I pour and paint jigs, make spoons and spinners, tie flies, build rods and all that good stuff. For a lot of my spinner blades and beads, I find Cabelas to be the least expensive. However, Janns is very close and they sometimes have some of the harder to find tacklecraft items. Barlows Tackle also carries a lot of good stuff at reasonable prices. They also have some lure making tutorials on their website. If you have trouble finding anything in particular, let me know and I will point you in the right direction. [/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]As I said, you need to spend some time surfing the net for some of the great websites that are available on basic luremaking. One good place to start is [url "http://www.luremaking.com/howto/index.htm"]LUREMAKING[/url][/#0000ff]
[signature]