Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hook size....
What hook size do u use for bluegills on worms? I'm using #6 and 8 in some kind of short shank but I would want them in long shanks that would be easy to get the hooks out. What do u guys have and what is the easy way to get them out if in too deep? I mostly would just cut the line and let the fish go if it isn't much for the frying pan rather than kill it for the hook.
[signature]
Sometimes I'll go up to a #4 with just enough crawler to cover the hook (thread it on) .. it helps deter the dinks too but the fish really dictate it. A 6 or 8 is usually the size I'll use and always use Octopus hooks with a modified snell knot.

I always have a few forceps handy to disgorge hooks incase they're the greedy type.
[signature]
I tend to fancy the Owner Mosquito hooks. #6-10 seem to work well. I also carry some hemostats to help get the deep ones out.[cool]
[signature]
... and you wonder why I'm not a doctor?!

[Tongue][crazy]

"Hemostats.. dang it nurse I meant Hemostats!"
[signature]
Ha ha. Thats funny Doc.

I was an EMT for many years. I was always in the habit of carrying the "Hemo's" around wherever I go. I usually keep one pair for fishing and the other ones are sterile for emergencies.
[signature]
I'm no EMT .. 'bout all I'm good for is a few bandaids and some electical tape. [Tongue]

say tN2, I've had both good and bad luck with buying hemos.. some I've had were sloppy at the hinge point.. bothers the heck out of me. Do medical supply stores usually carry hemos that joe public can walk in a buy?
[signature]
Hemos are in alot of medical supply as well as emergency preparedness or emergency supply stores. They are actually a type of forcep so you are not that far off.

Word of advice!! Stay away from the ones made in Taiwan, China or Pakistan. You will not find any from US available to the public but you can get some good quality ones if they are made in India.