Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Casting Bass Flys
I'm a newbie here, just joined because you have a great float tube and pontoon board here. I'm curious of the best set ups for casting big bass flies, line, leader, etc. and what are your favorite.

I'm in Poconos Pa.

Thanks
[signature]
[cool][b][font "Poor Richard"][green][size 3]Hi there Henry David and welcome to the Fly Fishing board. Can't answer your question as I have never tied on a bass fly although I have a few in hanging around. Would imagine that to cast big bass flies one is going to need a minimum of a 6wt rod. I don’t think that big is the only way to go as far as the fly is concerned. Anything that will make a little commotion is sure to draw their attention. A[/size][/green][/font][/b][font "Poor Richard"][size 3][green] double-tapered line would probably be the way to go since there is no need to cast long distances. My only rod with a DT line is a 3wt. which I wouldn’t want to use for bass. I mention this as I don’t want to invest another $60 in a DT for my 6wt just for bass. BTW there are some experienced folks that hang around here that should be able to field your question quite well. I’m sure that they will be dropping by shortly. Thanks for your post and do drop in again.
[/green][/size][/font]
[signature]
Henry, I am going to say a 6wt for Bass. It can definitly cast the big flies, but it can battle the vegitation that is associated with BASS. A 9' with a medium to medium / fast action.

All the main Fly Line manufacturers have Bass lines out with the taper for casting big bass flies also, or I would say a floating line with as DryRod mentioned a Double Taper.
[signature]
Thanks for the welcome dryrod.