Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Provo River Frustrations
I give up! I've tried pretty much everything on the Provo River. I mostly have fished the lower provo section around the tunnel and entrance to Sundance and farther up the river from there. I have checked the boards multiple times and tried the flies, techniques that everyone else uses and I haven't had any success. It usually makes me resort to lake fishing which is great but I'm very interested in fly fishing.

Granted I am a beginner, but today after researching a lot online and looking for great spots I tried casting terrestrials, BWOs, Streamers, you name it and not a bite! Even more frustrating was I constantly saw fish jumping next to me grabbing insects. I know that the Browns are close to spawning and so they are supposed to be aggresive.

Is there anyone willing to teach a new dog some old tricks? I'm totally open to suggestions and desperate at this point. I've made sure that there's no drag on the flies and casting properly. If anyone would be willing to go out to the Lower or Middle Provo tomorrow morning or evening just email me at [url "mailto:kewishjl@gmail.com"]kewishjl@gmail.com[/url]

Thanks!
I fished the lower provo near sundance yesterday and killed them... I caught more then 25 in three hours, with a lot more misses... I am by no means an expert but I would be happy to help out, I just cant go tomorrow... I am going duck hunting in the morning and watching the red sox game in the evening... but I could go sunday or pretty much any day next week, if you are interested let me know... AJ
[signature]
[black][size 3]Don't feel bad about not doing well on the Provo. That's one stream that I have never felt any confidence on. I've had good and bad days, but never felt like I could drop a fly into it with positive results.[/size][/black]
[size 3][/size]