Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
some ice fishing help
hey guys just looking for some basic tips/suggestions you might have for me out on the ice. ive been open water fishing for a number of years and have it down pretty well but i'm new to the ice. few questions:

1) do the fish move deeper for the cold weather?
2) what are bite times for northern/walleye/pan fish? same as open water?
3)if the fish arent takin suckers/shiners, is any other live bait useful?

any if anyone is feeling really zealous i'm going to layout the lake i fish on for you and maybe you can help analyze where the fish might be as we cant seem to find them in their normal places.

the lake is only 30 acres, depths only to about 10ft. unfortunately the weeds are killed late spring each year so for ice over the water has barely any weeds and is crystal clear (if i drop a jig to the bottom i can see it up to about 8ft of depth) panfish are found mostly on shorelines with some schools of them around some surviving weeds and in deep holes.

heres a map i made of the lake:
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/3956/lakeup3.jpg

we most commonly catch snakes (15-25" northerns), ~15" eyes, good size lmb's, and average crappies

[Image: 51511434ql9.jpg]

[Image: 31945152tk7.jpg]

[Image: 12454458th2.jpg]
[signature]
I would say your crappies will be in the deepet place they can find and the predators will be on the fringes waiting to bounce. My crappies are in 40+' of water and my tiger muskies are all over the water column with most of them about 23' down from the ice. Someone else with shallow water exp. might be better off helping you out.Good luck.[cool]
[signature]