Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
rod repair
ok here is the deal. Last night it was dark and I accidentally broke my fishing rod. It is between the tip guide and the next one down. Anyways, I have no experience making a fishing rod I want to get all the guides off and put them on a new blank to replace the broken one. I know the pole is only a $20 Daiwa but it is my favorite pole ever. It kind of makes me Sad. It is more just it means alot to me then it is worth alot. Anyones help would be appreciated if you can tell me what I need bare minimum to just take the guides off and replace the blank. Thanks.
[signature]
[#000000]ok, I having trouble under standing you question.[/#000000]
but if you just want to take the old guides off the rod.
you can use a exacto blade #11 or a single side razor will also work. the guides are held on the rod with nylon thread. you can cut the thread right on top of the foot and unwinde it, just be careful not to cut the rod, alway cut on or towards the guide foot.
some times for a quick repair you can just put another rip on the broken one if it's not toooo close to the second guide. not sure if you would want to even repair the rod, it would change the action and probibly not holdup because of where it's broke.
if you need anyother help just let me know.
later chuck
[signature]
well what I want to do is replace the blank that broke. It is a 2 piece rod and I figure I could just take the guides off and put it on a new blank. Is this going to be hard. It is a 5'6" rod and I really would like to just replace the top piece entirely and re-use the guides. Thanks. How would I go about doing this? I have never made a fishing pole so this is new to me. Thanks.
[signature]