Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Casting Problems!
Hiya Guys ive looked thru the links here and couldnt find anything that would answer my problem. I am very new to the art of fly fishing and ive done alot research on casting but i am learning how to cast by myself with no actual person to physically show me the process. I've watched a bunch of videos and ive got the hang of it basically. But when i do the False cast i cannot figure out were im supposed to stop the rod to get that perfect "roll out of the loop" onto the water usually the line hits before the leader and it does a kind of snake coil in the water about 12 feet out. So my question is were is a good stopping point with the rod to get that loop to come forward like its supposed too. Ive been praticing the 45 degree angle
between the rod and my fore arm but i guess my "stop" is too weak. any ideas? Besides going to take lessons lol
[signature]
First of all, I would like to welcome you to Big Fish Tackle and thank you for your question.

Second of all, i would be the worst one to try and teach someone how to do the perfect cast on a 5wt since I have difficulty with 5wts myself.

I mostly fish saltwater so I am in the 9 to 11wt category. The technique is pretty much the same but I have a few unorthodox techniques that I use effectively to make the art of Flyfishing work for me.

Furthermore, we do have some other members here that can be of great help in guiding you through the proper principals as well as possibly giving you a refference to a better video to view.

One of our best on the site (no offense guys) is a wonderful lady named Flygoddess. She can really give you all the better ins and outs, do's and don'ts of making that 5wt your best friend.[cool]
[signature]
Ill second the welcome to the BFT and your question.. its always good to review the basics and that is what your querstion will do..