Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
FISHFINDERS
Aloha everyone, Im a newbie to kayaking. Basically Im going to be kayaking in the local bays and harbors in California.for spotted bay bass and halibut. Jus t wondering if someone had any suggestions on a small lightweight fishfinder for me to purchase for my kayak. I Want something thats simple to use but effective for the bays. I would really appreciate some suggestions from you experts. Mahalo to you all!
[signature]
Any finder will do. I suggest getting one that is rated for at least 2x the depths you plan on fishing. Small and simple is good on a yak. Height of display gives more detail and seperation, width gives more history and longer to see what is on the screen.

I have my transducer mounted on a PVC tube that I can swing up out of the way when I need to. I use a small sealed motorcycle battery for power.

Mounting a straight plate or board in front of the cockpit makes a good place to mount the finder, GPS and a rod holder. Do some searches, you'll come up with pleny of ideas.
[signature]
[cool] HEY TROLL THANKS FOR THE GREAT INFO ON THE FISHFINDER. THE BOARD FOR MOUNTING THE FISHFINDER SOUNDS LIKE A GREAT IDEA BECAUSE YOU COULD PROBABLY MOUNT OTHER GADGETS ALSO. IT SEEMS LOGICAL. DO YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS BY MOUNTING YOUR TRANSDUCER TO A PVC PIPE? I THINK I WILL BE GOING WITH EITHER A EAGLE 300 OR A HUMMINBIRD PIRANHAMAX FISHFINDER BUT I WAS TOLD THE EAGLE WILL WITHSTAND SALTWATER ABUSE BETTER THAN THE HUMMINBIRD. I SURE WOULD LIKE TO KNOW YOUR OPINION BETWEEN THE TWO. MAHALO AND GOOD FISHING!
[signature]
Hey there i have had an eagle on my yak for the last 3 years with no damage from the saltwater, I use it in the ocean and rivers on the west coast. I have been happy with my eagle. but on my big boat I have a Pirhana and I like both, eagle is good size for yaks though
[signature]