Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Line Types
So when it comes to floaters I have a pretty good feel for what is what but when it comes to sinking lines I am a noob. I saw sinking tips, full sinkers, type II, Type III ect. Anyone care to enlighten me on what the different types are and maybe what their best application is for.
[signature]
Sink tips are just what they say. 5 to 15 feet of the first of the line is weighted. Bad thing for me with those "IS" because all the weight is in the front. Like adding a lot of split shot. Very hard to cast.
They are great for rivers because that short distance sinks so quickly and they they transition into a floating so you can get the drift.

On full sink, there are two types.
Density Compensated which sinks uniformly and does not form a belly in the line.
or Wet Cell which does form a belly in the line making it a better choice for weedy water beds to put the fly above them .

The roman numerals are the rate they sink. This will vary also with manufacturer. Type one is very slow sinking as is Intermediate with sink rates at like 1.25 to 2.50 ips. The bigger the number, the faster the sink.
I say SINK RATE. All sinking lines will eventually hit bottom, just some faster than others.
So why do you need faster? Because sometimes smaller fish hang higher in the water and you need to get past them fast to get to the bigger fish.
Higher numbered lines or faster sinking are great for the warmer months.

Intermediate and slower sinking lines are great for shallower waters because they do have a slow sink rate. You are able to cover allot of water before they reach the bottom.

So, slower lines for shallow and colder weathers when fish are hanging shallow like ice off or late fall.

Good all around lines are Type II and III remembering you can count down as well

Type IV - VI are great warm months lines

TYPE VII is an awesome hot day line but also deep nymphing line.