Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Stillwater Nymphing
I have very little experience nymphing in stillwater. What would be some good flies to have handy for northern Utah lakes this time of year and through the summer? I am asking about nymphs specifically.
[signature]
Haresears, Damsels, Renegades, Bead Head Prince Nymphs, and Zug Bugs...that pretty much covers mine.
[signature]
I like all those in sizes 16 and 12. I'd like to add Denny Ricards Stillwater Nymph in size 10 and his A.P. Emerger size 12.

So do you dangle them from a bobber or strip them in?
[signature]
Thanks..both of you.

I'm sure how you fish these is relative to the pattern and depth. But could I get a couple examples?
[signature]
Nymphs and/or chironomids (I call them mids) are found from top to bottom. So fish them where the fish are.

They can be suspended from an indicator at a predetermined depth. Heck you can do that with a leech pattern too but not many people do. Or you can cast out your line, count ten seconds and retrieve in short 4 to 8 inch slow pulls. Mix in some quick jerk type pulls too. Cast again and count twenty seconds and retrieve.

My rule of thumb is if you count to thirty and still need more time to reach the bottom put a faster sinking line on. Now if you've cast and retrieved all the way down to the bottom and not caught fish either move to find fish or put on a different fly and try again.

If the flies buzzing around are midges I use mids and if the flies buzzing around are mayflies I use hares ears or The Black and White Mayfly Emerger. I also have a no name pheasant tail knock off that works real well during the hatch.
[signature]
Troller, you learned fast. I kinda think pretty much everyone calls them Mids though.

My husband and I came across these styro indicators with a peg many years ago, Before that we would deep nymph 20' to 30' but have to quickly pull the indicator off and loose fish doing this on many occasions.