Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Biggest Fish on Fly Rod
I went to the Weber last Friday with a friend to teach him the basics of fly fishing. Well it was just about to be dark so i said we had 10 more casts. my 4th cast after that i got snagged, so i looked over to casey to tell him we were done when the snag took off...lol. I have never really caught what I would call big fish. so i was thinking this was a decent fish. the fish would not move out of deep water it took about 5 minutes to get him close to me when he jumped out and I saw a FAT fish. Told my friend to run to the truck and grab the net because I realized I did not grab it. My friend didnt have waders or boots but decided he would come in the water to help me land this fish(Thats when you know you have a GREAT friend) after running down the river with this fish we finally landed it on a 5wt rod with 5x tippet. only took 18 minutes (im still a rookie)[Smile]
[signature]
Nice fish man! All of these weber reports are awesome! Any hatches coming off?

Prepare to be chastised by some of the "veterans" on here for not getting that fish in faster.
[signature]
Those one nice brownie [angelic]. I might have to sneak over there some day.
[signature]
[quote CarlF] Any hatches coming off?[/quote]

yes, midges, a stoney here and there, BWo's here and there and if the conditions are perfect you might see a spring caddis
[signature]
Thanks! Thats fine if the "veterans" want to lay into me about not getting him in fast enough. I have one person teaching me and if he didnt say anything to me about it im good [:p]
[signature]
No one was there, and it is cold enough, I think you "played" it just right. My question, how does a "rookie" teach some one else?[cool] What if you learned wrong[crazy]
Just jivin' with the fish and the forth cast, you are doing just fine.
[signature]
Well you see my teacher goes with the "just wing it" fishing style. i know the basics so i can teach the VERY basics [:p]
[signature]