Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Grey's River WYO with a spinning reel
Hello All,
I am new to fishing. My family is going to Jackson Hole to run the Snake River, and I want to spend some time fishing the Grey's River with my son.

BUT I have no fly-fishing equipment.

Perhaps this is a blasphemous question for fly fishermen, but I want to know if I could/would possibly have any success on the river using spinning rod/reel. The limited tackle I have is mostly stuff for trout fishing in alpine lakes. I can purchase more flies, but I cannot purchase fly rods and reels.

I am going next week and would prefer to fish Grey's river (because it's so close to where we are camping) as opposed to driving to Jenny's Lake or fish the PaliSades Reservoir.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

I am sorry, no help from me. It is a fly fishing heaven for sure.
For future reference here is a chart at the bottom to help select flies.
Maybe try fly and a bubble.

http://www.greater-yellowstone.com/Star-...River.html
[center][#ffffff]Greys River Hatch Chart[/#ffffff][/center]
[left][/left]
[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 3]Insects [/size][/#ffffff][/font] [/center]

[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 1] Jan [/size][/#ffffff][/font][/center]
[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 1] Feb [/size][/#ffffff][/font][/center]
[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 1] Mar [/size][/#ffffff][/font][/center]
[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 1] Apr [/size][/#ffffff][/font][/center]
[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 1] May [/size][/#ffffff][/font][/center]
[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 1] Jun [/size][/#ffffff][/font][/center]
[center][font "Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica"][#ffffff][size 1] Jul [/size][/#ffffff][/font][/center]